top of page
  • Writer's pictureJessica Sanders

Self-care


I just returned from a six-week furlough in California. A furlough for a missionary is when one returns to their passport country to share about their ministry/current work, connect with supporters, possibly raise more funds, and spend time with family. It is a time of rest, reflection, and regrouping, but it's usually a busy time as you travel to various places to visit and share.


Because of COVID, this looked different for me. The time I had planned to share and connect with people I hadn't seen in over a year came to a screeching halt as California went into yet another lockdown, churches went online, and COVID cases reached a record high. Instead, I spent six weeks with my family. It was restful, enjoyable and much needed. I could check out from work completely--something I haven't done in I don't know how long--silence my WhatsApp chat groups and delay e-mail responses. It was HARD for me not to engage in work-related things, but with encouragement from friends and reminders that I needed to look out for myself, I did it.


These past six weeks reminded me why self-care is so important. It's a daily practice; it's not just a weekend thing or a vacation thing, but it's a seven-day-a-week thing. Self-care is something I am passionate about because of what I went through in the Dominican Republic. Burnout and compassion fatigue is real, and it's something I would never wish upon anyone. So, what can you do in your daily life to avoid it? This may look different for everyone, nor is this a one-size-fits-all kind of thing. You have to find what works for you and what helps you take care of yourself, but I would love to share what this could look like.


I believe Jesus Christ gave us the perfect example of someone who practiced self-care. Even though He was fully God and fully man, he still needed to rest, sleep, eat, fellowship with others, and spend time alone with His Heavenly Father (Matthew 14:23). Jesus had needs as we do, and He had limits, which we all have. Self-care encompasses four areas emotional, spiritual, physical, and mental. Let's break this down.


Emotional & Mental--is caring for your emotional and mental needs by identifying what you're feeling and then moving forward in a way that honors yourself and Christ.


"There is a time for everything,

and a season for every activity under the heavens...

a time to weep and a time to laugh,

a time to mourn and a time to dance..."

~Ecclesisastes 3:1, 4-5

  • Journal to process your feelings.

  • Keep a gratitude journal. This is something I started during my time in the Dominican Republic. It helped me change my mindset when I thought I had nothing to be thankful for.

  • Talk to a mentor--have them hold you accountable and pray with you.

  • Go through counseling.

  • Set boundaries in your personal and work life. This is not easy, but every area of your life will benefit from this if you do!

  • Learn to say "no." This was hard for me for many years, but I eventually realized that I could not commit to nor do everything.

  • Ask for help. Such a humbling thing to do, but very necessary.

  • Put your phone on silent in the early morning or evening. iPhone has a wonderful setting called "Do Not Disturb," which you can program to turn on automatically.

  • Have a night out (or in) with a few close friends. Do a game night. Make a pizza together. Do a wine tasting and chocolate night. Doing life with others is important and healthy.

  • Do a social media fast. For example, during the pandemic, I started to fast social media on Sundays and truly make Sunday my Sabbath.

  • Listen to worship music. You will quickly find that it will change the ambiance in your home or workplace.


Physical-- includes how you're fueling your body, how much sleep you're getting, how much physical activity you are doing, and how well you're caring for your physical needs.


"Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own;20 you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies."

~1 Corinthians 6:19-20


  • Make sure you are getting 7-9 hours of sleep a night. Putting your phone on "Do Not Disturb" mode can help with this! Also, shutting down electrons (even Netflix) 30-40 minutes before you go to bed is important. Studies have shown that electronics suppress the production of melatonin.

  • Drink plenty of water throughout the day.

  • Take a multivitamin, Vitamin C, and Echinacea to boost your immune system.

  • Go for a run, a hike, a walk, or a bike ride. Get out in nature with the Creator of the Universe.

  • Join a gym and enroll in a class or workout from home. I follow a girl on YouTube--Rebecca Louise--and try to work out at least three days a week.

  • Treat yourself to a pedicure or massage once a month.

  • Watch what you eat. It's okay to treat yourself, but it's not good to overindulge.

  • Challenge yourself to do something creative or something you have wanted to do for a long time.


Spiritual--we are designed to be in communion with our Heavenly Father. When this is out of whack, every area of our life suffers.


“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

~Mathew 11:28-30

  • Have a time of prayer and worship.

  • Write out your prayer requests.

  • Read and declare verses over yourself and your family.

  • Write scriptures on post-it notes and stick them to your bathroom mirror or on a wall in your kitchen where you frequently look.

  • Pick a book of the Bible and do an in-depth study of it with a friend.

  • Go somewhere remote--a beach, a hilltop, or an open field--and spend time with Jesus. Sometimes it helps to get out of your daily devotional routine and try something different.

  • Go on a retreat.

  • If you don't have a mentor, seek one out.

  • If you're struggling to find a daily devotion, The Bible App offers plans, teaching clips, and much more.


This is not an exhaustive list, but I do hope it gives you a place to start. As the flight attendant reminds us to put on our oxygen masks before assisting others, so too must we take care of ourselves so we can give selflessly in return.


Praises, Blessings & Updates:

  • Thankful for a relaxing and sweet time with family.

  • The teachers are meeting with half of our kids virtually and with the other half in person. We are accessing the situation monthly for changes and updates with the government. As of right now, none of the schools that our children attended are meeting in person.

  • Many of our parents are back to work either at the garbage transfer station or collecting recyclables on the street. Unfortunately, due to the economic crisis, more recyclers than usual on the streets, making it scarce to find goods to turn in for money.

  • In October of last year, I enrolled in a six-week Advanced Trauma Competent Training. This class was part of a series of classes to become trauma certified. The next class for this series is in June. I am very much looking forward to taking it!


Prayer Requests:

  • Our teachers have all battled colds off and on this past month. Pray for good health, rest, and protection over their families.

  • Pray for our Dream Center kids. Many lack the motivation to finish the school year and are severely behind in their studies.

  • Pray for me to stay focused, be "present," and continue to help guide and mentor our teachers.







Recent Posts

See All
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
bottom of page